It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:12 am

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 83 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 7:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 12:14 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Gunship=/= airborne but hey, I still love that XD. Now if we could get her a nice sprite to match leones i will be in heaven XD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 7:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
I was going to give the Skyfox the ability to transport infantry but I have yet to figure out a way to do that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 7:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 12:14 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Narts wrote:
I was going to give the Skyfox the ability to transport infantry but I have yet to figure out a way to do that.


You win all my respect and love right there =3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 5:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 1575
black ops only have 1 ammo and mech move?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 1:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
*checks code*

Mech move indeedy doo, and the ammo is a bug.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 12:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 1575
wait so is mech move a feature?
cause I like super special ops units getting to ninja through mountains
just saying, is all

also comm towers do nothing, cool
they still give 3 terrain def though, so we finally have AWBW's empty silos
well maybe if you set a prop cap they'll count towards it, we haven't tried yet


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 4:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:04 pm
Posts: 875
Comm towers do count towards capture limits. On a side note, the capture limit accounts for starting properties, so setting it to 4 when you start with 3 means you only need to capture 1.

Are the damage figures for apex units listed somewhere? They seem to be just over elite-ranked normal units, although we've only really checked shock troopers and black ops.

_________________
AWBW; BHHQ; WC; WWN


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 1:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
Yes they're normal units with +30/+30 boosts. It's the fifth rank that cannot be reached by ordinary purchased units.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 3:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 1575
so Narts, considering any other super units?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 3:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
I'm going to focus on balancing and tweaking the current ones rather than add whole lotsa more. A hovercraft version of corvette is likely to appear though. Beyond that I think I'm approaching the final number of CO's this game will have. I might consider giving them some kinds of powers or skills in addition to their apex units, just to give them more flavour, but it's not extremely likely. Only if I come up with something really ingenious but easy to implement. The existing units will get extra abilities however. I can already confirm exploding tanks. The lineup of regular units might also get an addition of a new unit or two.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 1:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:04 pm
Posts: 875
I'm not sure a Skyfox is worth as much as a Braithwaite or Landwolf considering it still gets dropped to critical HP by a regular anti-air.

What else can you do with apex units? Can capture rates be modified? Or even bestowed?

_________________
AWBW; BHHQ; WC; WWN


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 2:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
Pretty much anything can be done as long as it doesn't involve modifying the damage chart. I could make battleships with treaded movement but it would kind of suck if there was a land unit that couldn't be attacked by most other land units. Capture rates can be modified, in fact I'll probably give Mary's shock infantry increased captures. It might be fun to give some non-infantry apex capturing ability as well, Leone could probably use it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 3:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 1575
sup flying tanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 6:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
This isn't working

...I think I'm going to scrap the apex units.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 6:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:04 pm
Posts: 875
I suppose you can't raise their costs over 1000?

You could also nerf them; 130/130 is quite a lot. They might just be regular units with special perks at the cost of having a fixed ranking. They're also free; I don't know how you set it up but they could stand to cost something, if needed.

_________________
AWBW; BHHQ; WC; WWN


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 1575
Narts, progress report
flying tanks go or no?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 5:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
I feel my new plan is solidifying. I think I will start coding soon.

The next version will be based on AHC unplugged. All the changes in that mod will apply unless specifically reverted. The game is henceforth called MOUSTACHE-KRIEG. All caps and with a hyphen.

Units will be active after unloading.

All land units will be able to capture at 1x rate while footsoldiers will have the privilege of being able to capture at 2x rate.

CO units will not exist in the dor sense. COZ however will exist, and it could be projected by various means. The COZ is an abstraction of efficient communications and supply lines. As in dor, prestige is only gained by units within the zone.

The existing mechanics of ammunition and fuel will be scrapped. Partly for streamlining's sake, partly to underline the new zone mechanic's role at portraying the concept of supply. Spec ops will lose its primary weapon, essentially just becoming this game's version of bike.

The following things, tentatively, would project COZ:

Properties

Cities: 0 range (the tile they occupy only)
HQ: 5
Comm. Tower: 5
Factories and other production facilities: 0

Units

Convoy: 2
Battleship: 3

At some point I might consider adding new units specialising at this function but I'm not worrying about it for now.

Apex units

All apex units have a COZ. Also changing some names to bring more individuality. Might tweak other aspects too but not worrying about it now. Note that the zone range is constant, charging status has no effect.

Leone: Einhorn: 3, Calypso: 1
Mary: Foreign Legion: 0, Dragoon: 1
Mina: Skyfox: 0, Marten: 3
Peter: Landwolf: 1, Shock Infantry: 0
Smitan: Braithwaite: 0, Fenrir: 1
Graves: Black Ops: 0, Dragonfly: 0
Ember: Triton: 1, Gryphon: 0
Sophie: Lancer: 1, Big Bertha: 0
Sabaki: Partisan: 1, Guerrilla: 0
Tempest: Sturmvogel: 0, Jaeger: 1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 5:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 1575
cool

I'll go warm up the hammers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
I also have some units I want to introduce (or bring back). Probably won't make it into the next release, but perhaps the one after that.

Carrier: More like the old carrier than the dor one, doesn't produce units, has long range aerial attack. Big arse zone. Hmm maybe I'll call COZ in this game that. Arse zone. Or how about moustache zone. The moustache zone that charges your moustache meter allowing you to unleash your fearsome moustache power not to mention the abominable moustache unit. CHOOSE YOUR MOUSTACHE.

Fleet Tanker: Much like ye olde b'boat, being able to reinforce other units, will have a zone. Naval version of convoy. Probably won't transport infantry but who knows.

Minelayer: A naval ship that can produce and unload another naval unit called the Minefield, which obstructs enemy movement but does little else. Minefields could only be destroyed by enemy minelayers or a certain other unit type, cruiser maybe. Or sub. This idea is very tentative but I've been thinking about it for so long I feel it's about time to give it a try.

AWACS: A plane that projects a huge zone but does nothing else. Well I suppose it could have a long vision range. If only this game had fog. AWESOME


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 5:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 1575
each CO needs a different moustache

CHOOSE YOUR MOUSTACHE has to be the tagline for MOUSTACHE-KRIEG


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:04 pm
Posts: 875
I've been thinking about this and attempted a few tests, which kiwi thought were dumb, but came up with a few suggestions for zone specifics.

Properties

Base 2
Airport 2
Port 3
Platform 1

Units

IFV 1
Hvy Tank 1
Anti-Tank 0
Anti-Air 0
Missile 2
Gunship 0
Bomber 1
Fighter 3

Apex Units

IFV 2
Hvy Tank 2
Tank 0
Infantry 0
Bomber 2

So, if you're getting rid of ammo, Spec Ops lose their main selling point unless you make them deal high damage to their target units in place of their one-ammo-one-hit-KO. Or not. Both Hvy and Spec infantry could be brought down to 2500 in cost since spamming too many of them will theoretically feed enemy Prestige.

Alternatively, Spec Ops can be given 0 zone to justify their 3000 expense. Hvy Tanks can probably go back to 14000 cost if given 1 zone as well. As for the apex units, my rationale is that they basically have 1 added to their regular counterpart's zone size. If Spec Ops are given 0 zone, then the apex variant would be granted a zone of 1. Rockets will also need to cost at least 12000 since they'll effectively have unlimited ammo.

But that's just me. This sounds ambitious, so good luck getting it to work. Looking forward to seeing it in action.

_________________
AWBW; BHHQ; WC; WWN


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 1:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
Spec ops will likely cost 2500 and be a niche unit. I never wanted it to be something to be spammed with reckless abandon so I'm taking it down a notch on purpose.

I'm not giving zone to standard units unless they can conceivably serve as either supply or communications hotspots.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 5:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
NEW RELEASE!

Ad Hoc Commander 091106


Download link: http://customwars.googlecode.com/files/ahc091106.zip
Source: http://customwars.googlecode.com/files/ ... 06_src.zip

Zone works as detailed in the earlier post (with the exception that production facilities have 3 zone instead of 0) and is fully functional.

Decided not to implement action unload or all-capture this time.

I'm keeping ammo and fuel as well for now.

Duplicate apex units renamed.

The main purpose of this release is to test the functionality of the new zone mechanic, and see how it affects the game. Will decide on further developments after some testing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 5:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
The first test game with kiwi was a success. Not only the code seems to be working without glitches, the mechanic also enhances gameplay, AND feels different from both dor and old-school aw. After some refinement this mod may well become something worthwhile after all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 12:14 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Hey Narts ^^,
That is amazing news, once a few of the tweaks are done, and once my school work load eases off, I will play with you guys and you can beat me up and say "lurn2ply" at me like the good old times ^^.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
NOVEMBER 2009

Image

KEEP 'STACHED


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 1575
stickers?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
I'll stick em into yo face


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
Okay, maybe they do look better with plain black outlines.

Image

Let's see if I can stick to my end of november deadline. Pretty sure air and sea units won't make it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 4:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 12:14 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Hey Narts,
been dieing with multiple days of being sick combined with giant stacks of university work, so this is the first time around in a long time. I wanted to tell you the graphics look good but are those actual size, or are they just scaled up at the moment for us to see more clearly? Anyway good work I like forward to seeing how you tackle the rest of the units.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
These are the actual size. As would be seen in the game. They are actually scaled down from what the graphics actually are (around 250x250 paintings). These images scaled at a different factor could be used for intel screens and what not.

I realised changing the engine to support different tile sizes wasn't that hard to do, and by loading the graphics as png I get to use alpha transparency. There is virtually no slowdown (any that I could see on my pc anyway). I can also display a huge image in place of the map, allowing for some pretty neat terrain visuals, though I'll keep support for tile-based maps in as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 7:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 12:14 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Terrific news on being able to implent large images as maps. When I proposed moustache kreig I wanted to make the map unique (like every feature drawn with a tile overlay on top so that buildings would not all be identical etc), knowing that you are a good map artist I am excited to see what kind of maps you will make this way. Looking forward to playing this game <3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 1575
hey Narts how cool would it be if units could buy ranks?

they could spend a turn and some money working out at a city gym


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
No amount of training can supplant real combat experience.


Can't see what good such feature could do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 7:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
Ad Hoc Commander 100106

Image

Download: http://customwars.googlecode.com/files/ahc100106.zip
Source: http://customwars.googlecode.com/files/ ... 06_src.zip

New:
-Major graphics overhaul. Still in progress. Only red and blue land and air units have graphics atm. Everything else shown as yellow IFV's.
-Tile size increased to 32x32
-Recon and Anti-tank trashed. The hovercrafts are now Destroyers instead of Anti-tanks. A temporary solution only. OR IS IT?
-Hvy Inf now has inf movement and is called Anti-tank.
-Other unit naming changes: Artillery -> SP Art, Rocket -> Rkt Art, Anti-air -> SPAA, Missile -> SAM
-There is no more cap for amount of prestige that can be amassed. Deploying prestige units also consumes prestige in the amount the unit is worth only. In other words, prestige behaves just like funds.
-Zone looks more aesthetically pleasing and incurs a +10% attack bonus to units inside it.
-HP percentages are fully shown on the map.
-Menus have been fixed. Player can no longer select joke options such as tags, weather, fog, etc.
-Other changes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:04 pm
Posts: 875
The zones have a soothing, hypnotic quality to them.

Damage readouts don't seem to display correctly though; if you have a unit in a zone but move out of it to attack something, it shows a number with the zone attack factored in.

_________________
AWBW; BHHQ; WC; WWN


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
OK the zone attack bonus was a last minute addition and I didn't test it. At all. Should have known better. Thanks for noticing.

Also, forgot to mention, all units now have infinite ammo, eliminating the primary/secondary weapon dichotomy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 4:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 1575
ARGH MICROMANAGEMENT

are you going to limit terrain to single tiles now


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1363
Making a huge painting for every map is too much work, so yeah I'll stick to tiles for now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ad Hoc Commander
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 1575
I meant how HQs and mountains were taller than a single tile


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 83 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Blue Moon by Trent © 2007
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group