It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:50 pm

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1730 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 44  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 2:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 2044
Location: Pewter Orbit training academy
I keep getting the stupid grey screen -_-..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 2:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
are you sure that the .png and .txt files are in the same directory as the .jar?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 2:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:21 am
Posts: 960
Location: Stroud, Gloucestershire, England
I replaced the forests with the CW ones.

Image

Can all future releases be in the CW tileset?

_________________
In
ImageThe Mine
ImageCW Desert
WIP
ImageCW Snow


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 2:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
Yeah, I just need the CW tileset...since I don't have it.

Give me all your CW terrain, building, and unit sprites. Make sure units and tall terrain/buildings have transparent backgrounds. If you can do that, I'll put it in the tomorrow's release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 2:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 2044
Location: Pewter Orbit training academy
What do you mean the same .jar??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 3:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:21 am
Posts: 960
Location: Stroud, Gloucestershire, England
urusan wrote:
Yeah, I just need the CW tileset...since I don't have it.

Give me all your CW terrain, building, and unit sprites. Make sure units and tall terrain/buildings have transparent backgrounds. If you can do that, I'll put it in the tomorrow's release.


I don't have all of it, you could try asking in the graphics forum.

Shaky, there are two links right? Download both of them, then unzip the files. one of the folders has one thing in it, the other has lots. Copy all the things from the one with lots in into the one with 1 thing in it and it should work. Well, it did for me

_________________
In
ImageThe Mine
ImageCW Desert
WIP
ImageCW Snow


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 3:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 2044
Location: Pewter Orbit training academy
It didn't work -_-.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 3:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:01 am
Posts: 253
Location: Kansas
By having the .img and .txt files in teh same directory as the .jar what do you mean? I don't know what .txt or .img files you're referring to...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 3:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 2528
Location: Bored out of my mind.
The_Roses_Thorn wrote:
By having the .img and .txt files in teh same directory as the .jar what do you mean? I don't know what .txt or .img files you're referring to...

The ones in the "source" folder, I think.

_________________
~Blue Moon Campaign Designer~
Image
Credit to Fighter_Dedede for the banner.
"Golly great geishas, Kanbei! The enemy's advancing like mold on bread!" ~Kosheh
Indeed. The fact I actually know someone who wrote Sailor Moon Cannibal Slash proves this point. ~Xenesis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 3:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
well actually, they're .png and .gif files, not .img files

[edit]

OOPS! I forgot to put the images and text into the .jar's zip! no wonder you guys are having so much trouble.

okay, redownload this file if you're still having trouble:
[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]
I replaced the old one with a fixed new one


Last edited by urusan on Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:19 am, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 3:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 am
Posts: 4700
Location: London
Image

SPACE CUSTOM WARS!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 4:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 2044
Location: Pewter Orbit training academy
Nope, still have a grey screen -_-.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 4:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:01 am
Posts: 253
Location: Kansas
Alright, I was wondering where those images and .txt's were ;). Works now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 4:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
Here's Alpha 8.5:
[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]
[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]
Screenshot:
Image
It's only a half release because I haven't added in MoogleGunner's new code, and because it's mainly graphical tweaks and bugfixes.


Last edited by urusan on Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:19 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 4:29 am
Posts: 368
If you want, I can program some of the easier CO's (like hawke, grit, max, sami, ie not sensei/rachel/etc.)

Also, Andy doesn't have the +1 movement during his super. I dunno if you forgot that, didn't forget that, or are planning to add it in later.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
Go ahead and take a crack at it. It is open source after all. Use the Andy class as a template.

We're concentrating on getting turns set up right now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:02 am
Posts: 4868
Location: Ireland
tuh. java won't even install on my pc

_________________
Image
AWDC FC: 390966 506669 (PM me and I'll add you)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:01 am
Posts: 3866
Location: Green Bay
uhh... what are the controls?

_________________
Lost in a New Horizon Campaign
Prequel Campaign Part II: When the Sun Sets in the West
Pessimists United Current Essay: Racism in America
Quote:
[19:46] Shane: Jim Morrison is hot

S= -.03 (V-21)^2 +12
Where S is Helen's score and V is votes cast.
A vote for Dark Matter is a vote for Fecal Matter.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
Keys
w-up
a-left
s-down
d-right
enter-action button (A in AW)
m-bring up the menu

Currently, there is no mouse support...that comes later.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:21 am
Posts: 960
Location: Stroud, Gloucestershire, England
EDIT: Beaten to it

_________________
In
ImageThe Mine
ImageCW Desert
WIP
ImageCW Snow


Last edited by Limbo on Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:02 am
Posts: 4868
Location: Ireland
so prodding the screen with a big stylus won't do anything?

_________________
Image
AWDC FC: 390966 506669 (PM me and I'll add you)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:11 pm
Posts: 1266
Location: Should be programming AI and Sound
Thief wrote:
If you want, I can program some of the easier CO's (like hawke, grit, max, sami, ie not sensei/rachel/etc.)

Also, Andy doesn't have the +1 movement during his super. I dunno if you forgot that, didn't forget that, or are planning to add it in later.


my fault :oops:

anyway, right now, Damage COs arn't options, as there is no easy way to target other armies. We'll work on that later.

_________________
Image
Thanks to Taboo for the sig and avy. CLIFF NEEDS RATES AND COMMENTS: http://forums.customwars.com/viewtopic.php?t=5351


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:33 am
Posts: 10286
Location: TF2
:D There's nothing much I can say... CW is finally coming together!!!!!

*cries*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:02 am
Posts: 4868
Location: Ireland
let us all raise a glass, and laugh heartedly at RWD

_________________
Image
AWDC FC: 390966 506669 (PM me and I'll add you)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 9:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
Alpha09 is ready
Sources:
[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]
JAR:
[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]
Screenshot:
Image
New Features:
Turns (use End on the Menu to go to the next turn)
Active/Inactive Units
Capturing (just move onto a city, then move there again next turn, city captured)
Better damage indicators
Lots of Stuff under the hood


Last edited by urusan on Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:20 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 9:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:19 pm
Posts: 546
Location: Here
Well CW run on a Windows 98?

_________________
Image
Wars World News Football Topic
Robicha, the Soccer CO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 10:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:02 am
Posts: 4868
Location: Ireland
it's still only 2D so i don't think you'd exactly be overloaded banzo. not this one anyway

_________________
Image
AWDC FC: 390966 506669 (PM me and I'll add you)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 10:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 11:25 pm
Posts: 3903
Location: United Kingdom
Woo, turns are incorperated. I'll highlight the problems I'm noticing, you'll probably be aware of them all anyway but:

-artillery can move and attack
-infantry can capture and attack
-can't finalise a unit's movement by clicking on unit, have to click out of it's range

Those are the only things, but nothing too bad, you've made great progress with it. Could I suggest for the next release that maybe in the corner could be 'Day X' that's red on OS's turn and blue on BM's turn then increase as the days pass?

Either way, like I say, excellent progress, keep up the good work :D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 11:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
It might work on Windows 98...if it supports a version of Java that can run the game.

I'll fix those bugs by the next release.

I'm going to work on Context Menus (the menu that pops up after you move a unit) and getting animation, scaling, transparency, palette modification, etc. working for the next release. We'll need those advanced 2D graphics to do what we're trying to do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 11:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 am
Posts: 4700
Location: London
urusan wrote:
I'm going to work on Context Menus (the menu that pops up after you move a unit) and getting animation, scaling, transparency, palette modification, etc


Not much, eh?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:01 am
Posts: 253
Location: Kansas
I can't capture at all with damaged infantry >_>.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 11:25 pm
Posts: 3903
Location: United Kingdom
Are you sure your allowing the right amount of days to capture? It's working for me :S

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:01 am
Posts: 253
Location: Kansas
:'( I can't capture period. No idea what's going on. I'll deal with it later though
as I have to pack, then go to a 2 day party, then go on a week long vacation @_@.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 1:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:31 am
Posts: 729
I found an effect, where if you half capture a city, move off, and then start to capture again, you finish. What exactly happened was I started to capture with 1 blue infantry, moved off, and then started to capture with the next one, which finished the capture 1 day early.

_________________
altf4FTW, on the subject of Mortar Infantry.
Quote:
You've basically eliminated all possible use for it. It will suck in the backlines; it will suck in the frontlines; and now, it will suck in groups.

"Hi, I'm an artificial cap imposed because the idea isn't balanced!"-Xen

OverlordSmurf, on two really bad tank ideas.
OverlordSmurf wrote:
Tough crowd? Even the easy crowd is eager to boo this crap >_<


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 1:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 am
Posts: 4700
Location: London
I really should test these things more...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 2:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
Another half release: Alpha09.5
Source:[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]
Jar:[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]
Image
I added Context Menus


Last edited by urusan on Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:20 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 3:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:02 am
Posts: 4868
Location: Ireland
urusan, stop releasing new things! i command you! it still won't install!

_________________
Image
AWDC FC: 390966 506669 (PM me and I'll add you)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 3:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:21 am
Posts: 960
Location: Stroud, Gloucestershire, England
2 releases a day!

You should slow down incase you burn your feet.

Great progress, the only major problems I can see are the artilliry moving and firing on the same day and the capture points not resetting.

Another really small thing is that in the actual game the order on the menu is Fire, Capture, Wait not Wait, Fire, Capture.

_________________
In
ImageThe Mine
ImageCW Desert
WIP
ImageCW Snow


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 3:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 4:08 am
Posts: 1537
This is just amazing. Thank you programmers!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 5:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 2044
Location: Pewter Orbit training academy
GAH!! THEY STILL DON'T WORK!
Why me..


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1730 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 44  Next

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Blue Moon by Trent © 2007
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group