It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:11 pm

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1730 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 44  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Releases
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
I'm making significant progress on the Graphics and Engine programming right now. I already have a new release ready. Here's a screenshot:
Image

I added moving, firing, HP display, move range display, and menus
I also added property and city classes, though they need work
Lastly, I fixed a bunch of bugs

Here's the source:
[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]

Note: one of those Infantry units is actually an Artillery in disguise, since I still haven't gotten that worked out yet...

How should we release these things in the future? Is this good enough for now?


Last edited by urusan on Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:17 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 1:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 11:25 pm
Posts: 3903
Location: United Kingdom
I think this is good enough for now.

And I've got it working this time :D That's looking great and it generally works. The only problem is that the artillery can move and fire, and counter, but you probably already know that.

If you'd like them, I have the red attack tile and green movement tile on my PC that I can post, rather than the bright green and blue squares.

Good progress.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 1:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:14 am
Posts: 123
Location: Switzerland
congratulations, you just surpassed RWD in therms of actual work!

Seriously though, keep up the good work.

_________________
Currently melting my brain for 15 bucks per hour...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 1:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
Actually, any graphics related to the main battle screen (esp. units and tiles) that I can get my hands on would be very nice. I'm currently using 16x16 sprites for the tiles and units (this could be changed, and I'm going to try to allow scaling). The way I'm going to code it doesn't allow sprites that are too wide, but allows sprites that are too tall (HQ, Cities, etc.). Sprites that are too small are less useful too (I use the 16x16 dimensions to align things).

I think need to figure out how the Graphics2D class works to do a few important things: transparency/translucency, scaling, and palette modification. I'll figure that out soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 1:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:11 pm
Posts: 1266
Location: Should be programming AI and Sound
Xaif wrote:
I think this is good enough for now.

And I've got it working this time :D That's looking great and it generally works. The only problem is that the artillery can move and fire, and counter, but you probably already know that.

Good progress.


uuh.. move and fire, yes, I'm working on that... but counter, it should not. in fact... I've tested that... I think...

_________________
Image
Thanks to Taboo for the sig and avy. CLIFF NEEDS RATES AND COMMENTS: http://forums.customwars.com/viewtopic.php?t=5351


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 1:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 11:25 pm
Posts: 3903
Location: United Kingdom
Image Image

Odd. It does when I do it, if you attack with the artillery and leave the infantry on 1 or 2, then attack the artillery with that damaged infantry, it gets taken out.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 1:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
Xaif wrote:
Odd. It does when I do it, if you attack with the artillery and leave the infantry on 1 or 2, then attack the artillery with that damaged infantry, it gets taken out.


same here, I wonder what's causing that...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:25 am
Posts: 1066
Location: Wisconsin
My guess is that the artillery thinks it can counter even though it shouldn't be able to.

This is really excellent progress. I have a question: Can we release it outside of CW, or should it be kept quiet?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 3:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:24 am
Posts: 2427
Location: Georgia Tech
I'd say go ahead. This part of the project is open source, but be sure to link to the boards.

_________________
That is not dead which can eternal lie
And with strange aeons even death may die.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 4:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:02 am
Posts: 4868
Location: Ireland
here, how do i run it?

_________________
Image
AWDC FC: 390966 506669 (PM me and I'll add you)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:24 am
Posts: 2427
Location: Georgia Tech
http://www-static.cc.gatech.edu/classes ... index.html

_________________
That is not dead which can eternal lie
And with strange aeons even death may die.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:02 am
Posts: 4868
Location: Ireland
arg! wall of text+tired eskimo=arg! it appears i have J2SE, but not on my computer. it's there, but it's not. how bewlidering

EDIT: never mind. but when they updated the java.sun site, they could've updated the tutorial as well

EDIT2: i followed that tutorial, but when i downloaded the thing it tells you to, it freezes and stops responding. god i hate my pc

_________________
Image
AWDC FC: 390966 506669 (PM me and I'll add you)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:24 am
Posts: 2427
Location: Georgia Tech
EskimoConvntion wrote:
EDIT: never mind. but when they updated the java.sun site, they could've updated the tutorial as well


Nope, they couldn't. This was used in my CS class for fall semester last year. Sort of hard and useless to update :roll:

Sorry you seem to have trouble. Not to worry people, the real versions to be played will be easy "double-click to use" applications. This is still in the framework stage, so it isn't on our priority list right now to do that yet. Well, it is, but as you can see, it's quite low.

Confidential list of priorities wrote:
...
20065. Tamper with Xen's version of Custom War's, making everything unbalenced :twisted:
20066. Make sure that the snakes don't learn of our plan of world domination.
20067. Make CW user-friendly.

_________________
That is not dead which can eternal lie
And with strange aeons even death may die.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:02 am
Posts: 4868
Location: Ireland
Retsej wrote:
Sorry you seem to have trouble. Not to worry people, the real versions to be played will be easy "double-click to use" applications.


good. any more than that these days seems to crash my pc

_________________
Image
AWDC FC: 390966 506669 (PM me and I'll add you)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 2528
Location: Bored out of my mind.
Confidential list of priorities wrote:
20066. Make sure that the snakes don't learn of our plan of world domination.

If they're on a plane already, it might be too late. :shock:

I downloaded the Netbeans compiler and the development version of Java, and recompiled it. It works, but the graphics aren't showing up for some reason, and it doesn't seem to be detecting the damage table. Besides that, though, it works. Good job!

_________________
~Blue Moon Campaign Designer~
Image
Credit to Fighter_Dedede for the banner.
"Golly great geishas, Kanbei! The enemy's advancing like mold on bread!" ~Kosheh
Indeed. The fact I actually know someone who wrote Sailor Moon Cannibal Slash proves this point. ~Xenesis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:53 am
Posts: 4551
Location: In voting topics canceling stupid people's nays
I would like to know how to run it as well. I already have the needed java softwhere I just want this little alpha to work so I can see what it does

_________________
"An ostler has a mood and he kicks the dog. A mage has his moods and a town dissappears. - Anduin Lothar

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Image

I'm still a LUEser (at heart) and proud of it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
ChessRules wrote:
I downloaded the Netbeans compiler and the development version of Java, and recompiled it. It works, but the graphics aren't showing up for some reason, and it doesn't seem to be detecting the damage table. Besides that, though, it works. Good job!

This seems to be a common problem. It means the files aren't in your working directory (with your .class files). There are 2 quick and dirty ways to solve it:
1. put the data files in your working directory (for netbeans, the project folder under build\classes\)
or
2. change the line File f = new File("image.png"); to File f = new File("C:\\place\\I\\keep\\the\\files\","image.png"); wherever it appears (currently in BattleScreen and BaseDMG)

I'll work on a better way for the next release


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:25 am
Posts: 3233
Damn Mac OS X 10.3 and lack of Java 1.5 support, not allowing me to use the scanner class and getting compiler failures!

ARGH. <_<;

(And yes, Retsej, I did try your CS department's hack)

_________________
Deoxy wrote:
Xen watches us all go about our daily lives with his finger floating above the "Destroy everything" button.

Mooglegunner wrote:
Seriously, if there's an American in College who isn't on when you are, they're not working hard enough, or Liberal Arts Majors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
I just found a better way. It turns out that NetBeans automatically .jar's the binaries after every build. You can just unzip this to a directory and run the jar file (on my computer I just double click it, some of you may need to run: java -jar "Custom_wars.jar").
[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]

I did some more work since last time. Notably, I added classes that load the graphics for the units and terrain. You can actually see things properly now! Here are the sources for those of you who are interested:
[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]

[edit]
screenshot:
Image

[edit]
For those of you who don't know yet:
No mouse support
Keys
w-up
a-left
s-down
d-right
m-menu
enter-action key (A button in AW)


Last edited by urusan on Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:18 am, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:25 am
Posts: 3233
Yep. I get an error message. I assume I won't be able to run this until I upgrade to 10.4 and get Java 1.5

_________________
Deoxy wrote:
Xen watches us all go about our daily lives with his finger floating above the "Destroy everything" button.

Mooglegunner wrote:
Seriously, if there's an American in College who isn't on when you are, they're not working hard enough, or Liberal Arts Majors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
Yup, pretty much. Either that or if we stop using the Scanner class. That might be possible, since it's just a matter of convenience. However:
1. This is a low priority
2. We might start using other similar classes in the future

Do you have another computer to try it on?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:25 am
Posts: 3233
Yeah, but the PC doesn't have Java on it at all at the moment, I'm out of download limit, and I need to go to work soon anyhow.

I'm aiming to get myself a new computer soon anyhow. This one is quite literally dying.

_________________
Deoxy wrote:
Xen watches us all go about our daily lives with his finger floating above the "Destroy everything" button.

Mooglegunner wrote:
Seriously, if there's an American in College who isn't on when you are, they're not working hard enough, or Liberal Arts Majors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:09 am
Posts: 2528
Location: Bored out of my mind.
Works for me now. :D

_________________
~Blue Moon Campaign Designer~
Image
Credit to Fighter_Dedede for the banner.
"Golly great geishas, Kanbei! The enemy's advancing like mold on bread!" ~Kosheh
Indeed. The fact I actually know someone who wrote Sailor Moon Cannibal Slash proves this point. ~Xenesis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 2044
Location: Pewter Orbit training academy
Eh, I got an error.
What should I do if it says
Quote:
Java Virtual Machine Launcher
Could not find the main class. Program will exit!

?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
That's really odd, because it definitely has a Main class. How are you running it? Are you using the .jar or the .class files? Do you have the latest version of Java?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 3:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 2044
Location: Pewter Orbit training academy
Maybe it's that I don't have the latest version of java ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 10:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:11 pm
Posts: 1266
Location: Should be programming AI and Sound
don't worry, I have no doubt that we'll release the alpha, in .jar form before long.

_________________
Image
Thanks to Taboo for the sig and avy. CLIFF NEEDS RATES AND COMMENTS: http://forums.customwars.com/viewtopic.php?t=5351


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
Alpha08 is ready
Sources:
[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]
JAR:
[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]
Screenshot:
Image
This time you can use large maps and scroll around. I tried a 200x300 map on an older version, and it slowed the computer terribly. I rewrote the draw code to only draw things in the window, and now it runs smoothly on any size map.


Last edited by urusan on Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:18 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 2044
Location: Pewter Orbit training academy
Can someone give me the latest version of java ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:11 pm
Posts: 1266
Location: Should be programming AI and Sound
www.java.com FTW!

_________________
Image
Thanks to Taboo for the sig and avy. CLIFF NEEDS RATES AND COMMENTS: http://forums.customwars.com/viewtopic.php?t=5351


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 4:26 am
Posts: 1895
Location: Hurricane Bait... Er.. Florida
Uh, when I try to run the alpha, all I get is a gray screen.. What should I do to run this?

_________________
Image
Sven wrote:
God I love you uber.

You're either completely oblivious, or the greatest actor in the world.

For the sake of my sanity I'm hoping the second.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 2044
Location: Pewter Orbit training academy
Ok, custom wars thing worked..with a blank screen -.-'..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
Sounds like your images didn't load.

For the jar:
Put the images and text files in the same directory as the jar
For the source:
Put the images and text files in the same directory as your sources/project (depending on your IDE)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 4:26 am
Posts: 1895
Location: Hurricane Bait... Er.. Florida
Well, it's coming along... Although you can only move the units around, not do anything else yet..

_________________
Image
Sven wrote:
God I love you uber.

You're either completely oblivious, or the greatest actor in the world.

For the sake of my sanity I'm hoping the second.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 2044
Location: Pewter Orbit training academy
I have no clue what I'm doing >.>..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 1:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 11:25 pm
Posts: 3903
Location: United Kingdom
It's looking good, with movement costs working aswell. Have you made any progress with why the artillery is countering? It's odd because it's out of the artillery's range aswell. I don't know how it's coded, but it could be that counters are defined as counterattacking when a unit is directly next to it only if the unit can attack it perhaps? Coz an artillery can attack an infantry, so the game could be thinking, "that infantry is attacking me directly, and I can attack infantry, so I shall counter," which would disregard range.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 1:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:21 am
Posts: 960
Location: Stroud, Gloucestershire, England
Yes, I got it working! Shaky, put all the source files in the same file as the .Jar, that worked for me. Might only have to put the image files in, I dunno. I have no clue what I'm doing either.

_________________
In
ImageThe Mine
ImageCW Desert
WIP
ImageCW Snow


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 1:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
MG found where the counterattack problem was. It turned out that he had fixed it earlier, and I accidentally reintroduced it while trying to cut down on code. It's been fixed, and the next release will have the fix.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 1:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 2044
Location: Pewter Orbit training academy
Limbo the Monkey wrote:
Yes, I got it working! Shaky, put all the source files in the same file as the .Jar, that worked for me. Might only have to put the image files in, I dunno. I have no clue what I'm doing either.


Uhm... .Jar?

(What???)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 1:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:34 pm
Posts: 3761
Location: Tennessee
How to Run CW Alpha in 3 easy steps:
1. If you have Windows, download Java here: http://www.java.com/en/download/windows_xpi.jsp
if you don't have windows, find the right version on http://www.java.com/
2. Unzip this zip to a directory:
[NO LONGER AVAILABLE]
make sure the images and .txt files are in the same directory as the .jar
3. Double click on Custom_Wars.jar
If double clicking doesn't work: open the command prompt, go to the directory , and type: java -jar Custom_Wars.jar


Last edited by urusan on Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1730 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 44  Next

All times are UTC + 9:30 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Blue Moon by Trent © 2007
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group